Ancient History of Marathon

The traditional story relates that Pheidippides (530 BC-490 BC), an Athenian herald, was sent to Sparta to request help when the Persians landed at Marathon, Greece. He ran 240 km (150 miles) in two days. He then ran the 40 km (26 miles) from the battlefield by the town of Marathon to Athens to announce the Greek victory over Persia in the Battle of Marathon (490 BC) with the word (Nenikékamen, ‘We have won’ or ‘We are victorious’) and died on the spot. Most accounts incorrectly attribute this story to the historian Herodotus, who wrote the history of the Persian Wars in his Histories (composed about 440 BC).

About A RUNNERS OF TOMORROW

It surprises me how I'm still discovering so many new things about myself; about life. Right now, I'm glad that I'm becoming more comfortable in my own skin; learning to accept and be proud of who I am, what I am passionate about, and the things I believe in. One thing's for sure though, I am very blessed. I thank God daily for the air that I breathe, the comfortable home I've got, my health, my talents, my mind. I'm also super thankful that I've got my wonder family. To my cousins- you're the best! I'm looking forward to the adventure ahead: the new places and cultures to visit; the ambition to conquer; and the God-given mission to fulfill. Life is just as it should be. For the other details, be agressive and ask.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment